Versions Compared

Key

  • This line was added.
  • This line was removed.
  • Formatting was changed.

Preferences > Organisation

Default account creation section

So that you don't have to change the same setting every time you create an account, you can change some of the defaults on the accounts preferences page.

Many of the options are about account activation and will apply only if you are creating accounts through the interface (custom self registration can use different settings):

  • Would you like to specify the accounts' passwords manually or use account activation?
  • Will the default login by email address option be yes or no?
  • If you are using account activation, do you want to send the user an email with an activation code?
  • How long are activation codes valid for? (1 - 365 days)
  • When will the account expire? (1 - 60 months after it is created)
  • Should a warning email be sent to the account holder before their account expires or not (sent at two and four weeks before expiry)
  • How long after an account expires should it be automatically deleted? (Never, or 0 - 365 days)
  • Whether federated resources will get a response if they are not specified in permission sets

All the values are whole numbers and any fractions will be rounded down.

What you need to know about automatic deletion

Some agreements you have with publishers or federations may require you to trace a login back to a user for a period of time after it has happened. This cannot be done if the account has been deleted so you may need to set the automatic deletion period to be long enough to allow for any agreements of this type.

Resource access section

Permissive and restrictive mode for federated resources

Permissive mode (default) means that a user can attempt access to any federated resource whether or not you have a subscription and whether or not you have allocated a resource to permission sets. A statistic will be logged for the access attempt even though they will probably not gain access. Keep using this mode if collecting those statistics is useful to you or your users access resources from a list of links you maintain yourself.

Restrictive mode (recommended) means that the system will block access attempts to federated resources that are not specified in permission sets. Switch to this mode once you have set up your permission sets with the resources you subscribe to - they will also appear in MyAthens. Statistics are only recorded for resources that you specify. This mode is very useful if any of your subscriptions are with providers who expect you to only pass them eligible users.

This setting only applies to federated resources - proxy resources and legacy resources (if you use any) will always operate as if in restrictive mode.

Redirector IP zones

If enabled for your organisation, these allow access to bypass OpenAthens authentication for specified locations.