Versions Compared

Key

  • This line was added.
  • This line was removed.
  • Formatting was changed.
Comment: Migration of unmigrated content due to installation of a new plugin
Tip
iconfalse

Path to function: Preferences > Organisation

Default account creation section

So that you don't have to change the same setting every time you create an account, you can change some of the defaults on the accounts preferences page.

Many of the options are about account activation and will apply only if you are creating accounts through the interface (custom self registration can use different settings):

  • Would you like to change from the recommended account activation process and always specify a password?
  • Will the default login by email address option be yes or no?
  • If you are using account activation, do you want to send the user an email with an activation code?
  • How long are activation codes valid for? (1 - 365 days)
  • When will the account expire? (1 - 60 months after it is created)
  • Should a warning email be sent to the account holder before their account expires or not (sent at two and four weeks before expiry)
  • How long after an account expires should it be automatically deleted? (Never, or 0 - 365 days)
  • Whether federated resources will get a response if they are not specified in permission sets

All the values are whole numbers and any fractions will be rounded down.

What you need to know about automatic deletion

Some agreements you have with publishers or federations may require you to trace a login back to a user for a period of time after it has happened. This cannot be done if the account has been deleted so you may need to set the automatic deletion period to be long enough to allow for any agreements of this type.

The domain administrator may have set a preference to delete non-activated accounts after a number of days. You should bear this in mind when changing the activation code expiry preference.

Resource access section

Permissive and restrictive mode for federated resources
Anchor
restrictive
restrictive

Permissive mode (default) means that the system will pass attributes to any federated resource that a user tries to access. In normal operation the resource would then decide whether or not to let the user in based on the attributes that had been passed.

Restrictive mode means that the system will block access attempts to federated resources that are not specified in permission sets. Its intended use is in situations where a resource is not operating according to standards - e.g. they have decided that it is up to you to not send them any response for users that should not have access.

This setting will also have an impact on statistics. A statistic is logged whenever attributes are passed to a resource and restrictive mode will stop those attributes being passed to unspecified resources. In permissive mode, statistics give you a record of all the things your users want to access; in restrictive mode, statistics give you a record only of the things that they should be able to access. Both have their benefits.

This setting only applies to federated resources - other resources such as proxy (if you use them) will always operate as if in restrictive mode.