Advanced search > Results page

From the search results page there are a number of actions you can perform on the accounts you select. The exact selection of what is available will depend on what type of account you have selected - e.g. administrator accounts cannot be deleted this way.

Delete

Permanently deletes accounts. You will see the accounts struck through in the results list until the delete job completes at which point they will disappear from the results.

Allocate and revoke permission sets

This action is only available when your search is limited to accounts at your level - it will not appear if the search criteria includes accounts belonging to sub-administrators.

When you allocate permission sets, you are presented with a list of all the permission sets at your level. The list does not display which permission sets are already allocated to an account - select the sets you wish to allocate and click on allocate. 

The revoke operation is almost identical - you are presented with a list of all the permission sets at your level. The list does not display which permission sets are already allocated to an accounts - select the permission sets you wish to revoke from those accounts and click on revoke access.

Change organisation

From the first box, select the part of the organisation to move the account to; you can type in the box to shorten the list. Then decide if the account(s) will have a permission set assigned to them under the new organisation. If you say no to permission sets, then they will lose access to resources until their new administrator assigns a permission set to the account.

Generate activation codes

There are two reasons you might want to use this action:

  1. For accounts that are in an unactivated state for any reason, you can email the user an activation code.
  2. For accounts that you want to disable, they can be moved into an unactivated state

A dialogue box allows you to decide whether or not to send emails when you generate codes. For example, when disabling accounts, you would not want to send an email because that email will allow the user to reactivate the account.

Download data

For the selected accounts you can download a CSV file of all the account details for things like mail merges or as a source file for a bulk upload. This is discussed further on the how to download data page.

Email users

For those times you do not need an entire data download for a bulk email, you can get just the email addresses of the selected accounts.

The text is pre-selected - you just need to right-click on it and select copy to grab it. The list is comma separated as defined in the standards that covers email addresses; if you are using Outlook you will need to change a setting to support this standard email delimiter (found in the mail section of the options dialogue in most Outlook versions).

Modify account expiry dates

Allows you to change the expiry dates of the selected accounts.

Approve/reject registration requests (depending on subscription)

If you are using custom self-registration and have chosen to allow administrators to approve or reject registrations you will have this action available. You have the option to send an email or not, and also to include a specific explanation in the standard email if you are rejecting the registration request. The same explanation is used for all the accounts you select when choosing this action.